Skip to content

don’t fall in love with a homo

July 5, 2009

Roger Federer tells Andy Roddick not to be sad. “I’ve been through rough times on this court too and I came back and won.”

… O-KAY.

Apologies for making so much fun of you, ARod! You pushed further than I thought you’d be able to push and you could have won if you hand’t choked in that tb. That will probably sting for a while. I’m sorry it didn’t work out for you. I know it’s your dream to win this thing, man. Good fight nonethless, and no tears during the presentation! Even though they’d be more than justified in your case – A+ in showing class in defeat.

You have a very pretty wife? There’s always the hugs and cuddling option.

One Comment leave one →
  1. risha permalink
    July 6, 2009 12:54 am

    Yeah, ARod was pretty damn classy through that horse and pony show- I even loved his incredulous, ‘you have five’ retort to Federer’s BS-y, condescending mouth foaming shit.

    OK, I just picked out whatever flashed the huge, flaming ‘fuck you’ sign. It may be a bit much. Sorry!

    http://www.wimbledon.org/en_GB/news/interviews/2009-07-05/200907051246792657171.html

    Quotes:

    Q. What are your feelings for Andy now?

    ROGER FEDERER: It’s hard. Sports or tennis is cruel sometimes. We know it. I went through some five‑setters in Grand Slam finals, too and ended up losing. It’s hard, you know.

    -obligatory Rafa mention:

    But it felt different. It was so different to what I experienced the last few years with Rafa, you know, where it was a baseline game. Today it was a serve and return game, which is more classical for grass.

    Q. A lot of players go through their entire career never winning one Grand Slam. What’s it like to win 15?

    ROGER FEDERER: That’s a good question. I like it. Makes me happy (smiling).

    I don’t know. I mean, it’s staggering, you know, that I’ve been able to play so well for, you know, so many years now and stay injury‑free. Happy what I’m doing.

    You know, I mean, of course there is a certain routine that’s started to happen the last few years since I sort of became No. 1 in the world. I knew what it took to win the big ones. That’s obviously, you know, a lot of experience that comes with it, you know, being there and giving myself chances.

    Yeah, you know, so it’s ‑‑ yeah, it’s crazy that I’ve been able to win so many in such a short period of time, I think.

    – I know how much the record meant to him and he knows how much the record means to me. In a way, I still feel like we share it, you know, just because he was such a wonderful champion. He still has one up against me here at Wimbledon. It’s nice, you know, that he shows appreciation for what I’m doing, and it’s just great seeing so many, you know, legends coming out and enjoying my tennis or our tennis today.

    I don’t know how to say. I used to get nervous when a friend would come watch me play as a kid, and then it was my parents, and then it was legends and people I really ‑‑ who meant something. Today it’s okay. Today anybody can come and watch me play. I don’t get nervous anymore. Today with Pete it was a bit special, you know. When he walked in and I saw him for the first time, I did get more nervous actually.

    -Q. He got here late actually.

    ROGER FEDERER: I said hello to him, too, which is unusual. But I thought, I don’t want to be rude, you know (laughter).

    (on if he knew that Sampras would be there) Yeah, he hoped it was maybe going to be in New York so it’s closest to him. He said maybe not Australia, if possible. But I think this works for everyone.

    -I’m happy at least that I became No. 1 in the world by winning the tournament, not just by him not playing at all, or me playing decent or someone else playing decent and getting to No. 1. That’s not the way it’s supposed to be.

    It’s supposed to be that you win big matches, big tournaments. That’s how you get back to it. (on winning w/out playing Rafa)

    -And then you’re not professional at times because you’re not supposed to be because you’re young, you’re a junior, you’re enjoying tennis. (on being a junior)

    -Q. No, that you brought to achieving the record of 15 slams.

    ROGER FEDERER: Uhm, just the fight, you know, because I’m famous for, you know, being all casual and relaxed out there, not showing much. But, you know, we all know how different it was, you know.

    So for me to come get the player I am today, I mean, I’m surprised, you know. Just because I didn’t expect it first of all. I never thought I could be this consistent, that great of a player with so many qualities, you know. Because I know I have qualities everywhere in the game. I know I have also some deficit, you know, which is normal, too.

    Q. What does it say on your T‑shirt?

    ROGER FEDERER: “There is no finish line. Far from done.”

Leave a Reply

