Skip to content

3 Popular Tennis Players I Don’t Care For

June 27, 2009

In the personal arena, not game-wise.

01. Gilles Simon: He does nothing for me at the best of times. I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again – he looks like a 12 yo who ordered testosterone trough the internet after opening a ‘HOW TO ENLARGE YOUR PEN1S’ e-mail.

02. Roger Federer: He can be hilarious. What bothers me is the dichotomy between what the press say about him (not to mention what he seems to think about himself) and what actually comes out of his mouth. He’s not “always so classy!” to opponents in his pressers. He’s not a gracious loser. And he’s certainly not humble.

I don’t mind hubris in sports people. But hubris-full sports people aren’t usually promoted as the epitome of graciousness. Roger says something like, “I’ve always been so talented, even as a junior” or “when you talk about golf, you talk about Tiger; when you talk about tennis, you talk about me” – he’s just being honest! Serena Williams says something to that extent, it’s arrogance.

03. Marat Safin: the very reason I’m doing this write up! I had this tl;dr post planned on WHY Marat Safin leaves me cold, overall. But for the sake of brevity, it can all be summed up by: very nice to look at, another one who can be quite amusing, but… I have no patience.

Underachiever! Supremely gifted! Dostoyevsky-like character! Right. Give him a look like Davydenko’s and all the cries about Marat’s sad, frustrating career would amount to an almost inaudible peep.

I’m not that easily swayed by hotness and above field average smarts, you guys. If I were, Novak Djokovic would be my favorite player in the top 4.

(Very fond of Dinara, though. She’s qt.)

Honorable mentions (in activity) would be Tursunov, Gulbis, David Ferrer,  Kuznetsova (just meh), Dokic (another meh)  – is JMDP “popular” yet?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. gauloises1 permalink
    June 28, 2009 2:10 pm

    JMDP’s pretty god damn popular with me, we can fight if you like 🙂

    • loltennis permalink*
      June 28, 2009 2:12 pm

      Nah, we’re good. I don’t care for him at all, but we’re good. 😉

  2. kid permalink
    June 30, 2009 9:05 am

    Some thoughts:

    Gilles Simon
    He’s nice to look at from the neck up. And he plays piano. But that’s it.

    Roger Federer
    He’s a gifted player, sure, but I can think of several other players who deserve the Sportsmanship Award more than him. If he absolutely has to have an award, sure, give him the “ATP player with the most GS wins” award.

    Marat Safin
    The bad boy image and frank humor probably appeals to many, but yeah, his headcase-ness has been getting a bit too tiresome over the years.

    JMDP
    Too hairy.

  3. daniel faraday permalink
    August 3, 2009 11:49 pm

    My opines

    Gilles Simon
    I’ve never liked the kid because I’ve felt his ranking was undeserved compared to his results. He honestly just does not strike me as top 10 material.

    Roger Federer
    I’m a fan of the guy, so I’m obviously biased, but here’s what I think. Yeah, the guy can be arrogant, and a not so gracious loser, but at the end of the day, he’s still a good guy. People are always saying how they’d prefer honest answers to diplomatic PR bullshit, but they don’t like it when it comes to Roger. Honestly, I think half the time he doesn’t MEAN what he says, but he’s just bluntly wording it. If he worded things better, he wouldn’t seem like such a douche. But, haters will hate, and unfortunately there’s nothing I can do.

    Marat Safin
    Love/hate relationship with the guy. I love him because he’s charismatic and hilarious, but I hate him because he can be a lazy whiny bitch. If he hates tennis so much, he should have just retired sooner, but I guess he at least needed some money to finance his vacations.

    • julia permalink
      September 7, 2009 6:00 pm

      I’m indifferent to Simon, dislike Federer and really like Safin. Sometimes I find his penchant for throwing away winnable matches frustrating, but whatever. Anyone who watched pre-injury Marat would know what the fuss was all about. OK, he’s gorgeous and funny, but that doesn’t win you slams, and he’s won two. Daniel, Marat is a multi millionaire and hasn’t “needed the money” for several years now. Lazy, whiny bitch? Well, aren’t you the charmer. I wonder if you’ll still like Roger when he stops winning slams and starts losing to qualifiers. Probably not.

Leave a Reply

